10 recipe ideas for fussy eaters

Judith Yeabsley
8 min readFeb 26, 2024

As a picky eating advisor working with over 100 families each year, I am going to start this with a statement: If there was a food that all fussy/picky/selective eaters would eat, and I discovered it, I probably would not be typing this. I would be sunning myself on my own tropical island, counting my millions!

Fussy eating is a spectrum with some children able to eat a fair range of things and some children struggling to manage ten different foods. The reasons for being unable to eat variety are also many. Because of this, finding recipes that tick boxes for everybody is not going to happen!

In fact, I often laugh when I see titles on the internet like ‘recipes ALL fussy eaters will eat’. Not true and if someone tries to tell you it is, they have obviously not spent much time with truly picky eaters. I laugh even more when I look at the ingredients that make up some of these magical recipes.

I am always going to argue that it is not about finding those magical recipes.

There are, of course, foods that are more commonly eaten by selective eaters, and I have discussed 10 of them below. Before we look at those though, a bit of discussion about introducing new foods could be helpful.

Before the recipes for fussy eaters

--

--

Judith Yeabsley

The Confident Eater, author of Creating Confident Eaters.